

251 E. Henri de Tonti Blvd., P.O. Box 144, Tontitown, AR 72770 ~ 479.361.9800

Tontitown Historical Museum (THM) Report for the COW Meeting Tuesday, November 19, 2024

The THM Board of Directors did not meet in November due to Polenta Smear on November 3rd.

- 1. November 3rd THM Polenta Smear: The THM Polenta Smear and Taste of Tontitown was on November 3rd from 11:00-1:30pm, we were happy to see so many familiar faces and many new at the event. The rough count that we have is 200+ we had almost a dozen student and adult volunteers helping in the kitchen and cleaning, along with all our board members and 3 potential board members. We partnered with Brittany Berry, EAST Teacher at Helen Tyson, to create a photo booth for visitors, and Dr. Rebecca Howard presented on Agriculture in Tontitown 1898-Present. The museum staff brought a handful of artifacts for guests to view and a blank map of Tontitown that we asked guests to put a pin on the map of historic businesses, homes and farms from throughout Tontitown history. I wanted to thank every business that sponsored food or door prizes, it was a great afternoon hearing stories and reconnecting with family and friends!
- **2. Digitization Project:** Museum Assistant Juli has been working diligently on this project and we are currently at 595 entries into CatalogIT. There was a slow down in data entry as staff prepared for Halloween in the Park and the 22nd Annual Polenta Smear.
- **3. Visitors:** October Visitors was 45. Museum Manager Emily met with the Italian Studies students for a podcast, as well as three other University of Arkansas students on other projects featuring Tontitown for their coursework.
- **4.** "Cries from the Cotton Field": The film continues to be featured at film festivals throughout the country, coming up is the New York International Film Festival, date TBD.

Regular Museum Hours: Wednesday & Thursday 9am-1pm, Friday & Saturday 1pm-4pm The next THM Board of Directors meeting is scheduled for December 2nd.

Board of Directors

Misty Piazza President		Bev Cortiana-McEuen	Member
Kara Jo Engle Vice Preside	ent	Heather Ranalli-Peachee	Member
Megan Taldo McAfee Trea	surer	Chelsea Stewart	Member
Allyson Bowen Secretary		Olivia Ward	Member
		Daxton Peachee	Member
		Torrie Pianalto	Member
		Ashlyn Bowen	Jr. Member